News

28.02.2016 - 16:54

Q.com article in the „Physik in unserer Zeit“

A recent open-access article by research partners from the BMBF Q.com Research Network project entitled "Sichere Kommunikation per Quantenrepeater" is published in "Physik in unserer Zeit", which reports on the current state and the main challenges in this field.

Read more...

12.12.2015 - 12:00

3rd OCL-TP Workshop

On 10-11th December, the 3rd International Workshop between the "Optical Communication Lab" and the Department "Technological Physics" took place under framework of long-term cooperation agreement between the Israel Institute of Technology and the University of Kassel.

Read more...

23.07.2015 - 16:54

OCL-TP Workshop

On 22-23rd July, the 2nd International Workshop between the "Optical Communication Lab" and the Department "Technological Physics" took place under framework of long-term cooperation agreement between the Israel Institute of Technology and the University of Kassel.

Read more...

INA - Technological Physics > Research > Nano Fabrication & Devices

Nano Fabrication & Devices

Group Members

 Group Leader:  Johann Peter Reithmaier
 PhD Students:  Alireza Abdollahinia, Annette Becker
 Technicians:  Anna Rippien, Florian Schnabel, Kerstin Fuchs





Objectives

The "Nano Fabrication & Devices" group deals with the development of novel fabrication processes on the basis of high-resolution lithography (e.g., electron beam lithography) and dry etching techniques for the  realization of semiconductor nano structures. Those techniques are used for the fabrication of optoelectronic devices, such as semiconductor lasers, amplifiers, optical switches, optoelectronic integrated circuits (OEICs), and more.

In addition, the group deals with the characterization of fabricated structures and devices. Special tools were constructed for the characterization of novel devices (e.g., fiber based linewidth measurement set-up, high-frequency set-up for small signal modulation, set-up for chirp measurement, and more). Also standard measurement tools are used for the basic characterization of lasers in pulsed and continous wave mode.

Projects

Literature

Publications
  • A. Becker, M. Bjelica, V. Sichkovskyi, A. Rippien, F. Schnabel, P. Baum, B. Witzigmann, J.P. Reithmaier, "InP-based narrow-linewidth widely tunable QD-DFB lasers", VDE-ITG meeting, Leipzig, Germany (May 2015) (pdf-File)

Overview Talks:
  • J. P. Reithmaier, G. Eisenstein, A. DeRossi, S. Combrié, "Power Saving in Communication Applications by Nano-Structured Optoelectronic Components", Technion / TU Berlin Green Photonic Symposium, Berlin (invited, March 2015) (pptx-File, 25 MB)
  • J.P. Reithmaier, "Nanostructured Materials for Optoelectronic Devices: Current Developments and Future Challenges", Int. Symp. on Advances in "Quantum Materials, Quantum Physics and Nanophotonics", Würzburg, Germany (invited, April 2015) (pptx-File, 93 MB)
  • J.P. Reithmaier, S. Banyoudeh, A. Abdollahinia, V. Sichkovskyi, A. Becker, A. Rippien, F. Schnabel, B. Bjelica, B. Witzigmann, O. Eyal, G. Eisenstein, "The impact of low-dimensional gain material on emission linewidth and modulation speed in semiconductor lasers", Conf. on Physics of Quantum Electronics (PQE), Snowbird, Utah, USA (invited talk, January 2016) (pptx-File, 8 MB

Picture gallery

E-Line
High-resolution electron beam lithography system (Raith e-line)
ICP-RIE-Etching
ICP-RIE dry etching system for III-V semiconductor materials (Oxford 100)
Nano cavity
Nano cavity positioned at the location of a quantum dot (in cooperation with Thales)
Optical switch
Optical switch on the basis of coupled nano cavities (in cooperation with Thales)
SEM pictures of  DFB-Laser (top-view + FIB cross cut)
SEM views of ridge waveguide lasers with lateral feedback grating. The cross-cut was realized by a focussed ion beam system (dual-beam FIB).
Laser array
Monolithically integrated wavelength tunable ultra-narrow line width laser chip based on quantum dot material
Emission spectra of laser array
Emission spectra of laser array wavelength tuned by grating period and heat sink temperature
Line width (power dependence) of quantum dot DFB lasers
Dependence of line width on the drive current of a quantum dot DFB laser
RWG QD Laser with temperature stable light output characteristics
Temperature dependent llght output characteristics of quantum dot ridge waveguide laser at different heatsink temperatures (pulsed mode)
CW output characteristics of RWG QD laser (Inset: HF-submount with HF-Probe)
Current-voltage and current-light characteristics of a QD ridge waveguide laser. The Inset shows a laser chip mounted to a ceramic signal transducer and HF-Probe (bandwidth: 50 GHz)
Eye diagrams of  RWG QD laser modulated at 25 Bit/s and different operation temperatures
Eye diagrams of 338 µm long QD laser operated at different temperatures and at a modulation speed of 25 GBit/s (direct modulation) (in cooperation with Technion, Israel).
© INA 2017. Version: 24.04.2017 - Impressum | Sitemap | RSS-Feed

Aktuelles

13.10.2017 - 12:00

5. OCL-TP Workshop

Vom 30. - 31. Oktober findet der 5. Internationale Workshop zwischen dem "Optical Communication Lab" und dem Fachgebiet "Technische Physik", im Rahmen eines langfristigen Kooperationsabkommens zwischen dem Israel Institute of Technology und der Universität Kassel statt.

Weiterlesen...

11.07.2016 - 12:01

Neues Projekt: Quantengeld und Nanosensoren

Auch für unser neues Projekt "Quantengeld und Nanosensoren" wurde die finanzielle Unterstützung durch die Volkswagen Stiftung genehmigt.

Weiterlesen...

11.07.2016 - 12:00

Neues Projekt: QD MIXEL

Finanzielle Unterstützung durch die DGF für unser neues Projekt "fs-Pulserzeugung mit MIXSEL (modelocker integrated external cavity surface emitting laser) auf der Basis von Quantenpunkt-Verstärker-und Absorber-Elementen" wurde genehmigt.

Weiterlesen...

INA - Technische Physik > Forschung > Nano Fabrication & Devices

Nano Fabrication & Devices

Gruppen-Mitglieder

 Gruppenleiter:  Johann Peter Reithmaier
 Doktoranden:  Alireza Abdollahinia, Annette Becker
 Technisches Personal:  Anna Rippien, Florian Schnabel, Kerstin Fuchs





Zielsetzung

Die "Nano Fabrication & Devices"-Gruppe beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung neuer Herstellungsprozesse auf der Basis von hochauflösenden Lithographie- (z.B. Elektronenstrahllithographie) und Trockenätzverfahren zur Herstellung von Halbleiternanostrukturen. Diese Verfahren werden eingesetzt für die Herrstellung von optoelektronischen Bauelementen, wie z.B. Halbleiterlaser, Halbleiterverstärker, Optische Schalter, Optoelektronische Integrierte Schaltungen (OEICs), u.a. 

Zudem beschäftigt sich die Gruppe mit der Charakterisierung der hergestellten Strukturen und Bauelemente, wobei insbesondere für die Untersuchung neuartiger Bauelemente spezielle Charakterisierungsverfahren aufgebaut bzw. eingesetzt werden (z.B., Faserbasierender Linienbreitenmessplatz, Hochfequenzmessplatz für Kleinsignalmodulation, Messplatz für Chirp-Messungen, etc.). Zudem greift die Gruppe auf Standardmessplätze zu, mit denen Halbleiterlaser gepulst und im Dauerstrich (cw = continous wave) betrieben werden können.

Projekte

Literatur

Publikationen
  • A. Becker, M. Bjelica, V. Sichkovskyi, A. Rippien, F. Schnabel, P. Baum, B. Witzigmann, J.P. Reithmaier, "InP-based narrow-linewidth widely tunable QD-DFB lasers", VDE-ITG meeting, Leipzig, Germany (May 2015) (pdf-File)

Überblicksvorträge:
  • J. P. Reithmaier, G. Eisenstein, A. DeRossi, S. Combrié, "Power Saving in Communication Applications by Nano-Structured Optoelectronic Components", Technion / TU Berlin Green Photonic Symposium, Berlin (invited, March 2015) (pptx-File, 25 MB)
  • J.P. Reithmaier, "Nanostructured Materials for Optoelectronic Devices: Current Developments and Future Challenges", Int. Symp. on Advances in "Quantum Materials, Quantum Physics and Nanophotonics", Würzburg, Germany (invited, April 2015) (pptx-File, 93 MB)
  • J.P. Reithmaier, S. Banyoudeh, A. Abdollahinia, V. Sichkovskyi, A. Becker, A. Rippien, F. Schnabel, B. Bjelica, B. Witzigmann, O. Eyal, G. Eisenstein, "The impact of low-dimensional gain material on emission linewidth and modulation speed in semiconductor lasers", Conf. on Physics of Quantum Electronics (PQE), Snowbird, Utah, USA (invited talk, January 2016) (pptx-File, 8 MB

Bildergalerie

E-Line
Hochauflösendes Elektronenstrahllithographiegerät (Raith e-line)
ICP-RIE-Etching
ICP-RIE-Trockenätzanlage für III-V-Halbleitermaterialien (Oxford 100)
Nanokavität
Nanokavität positioniert über einen Quantenpunkt (in Kooperation mit Thales)
Optischer Schalter
Optischer Schalter auf der Basis gekoppelter Nanokavitäten (in Kooperation mit Thales)
SEM-Bilder eines DFB-Lasers (top-view + FIB cross cut)
REM-Ansichten eines Stegwellenleiter-Lasers mit lateralen Rückkkopplungsgittern. Der Querschnitt wurde mit einer fokussierten Ionenstrahlanlage (dual-beam FIB) hergestellt.
Laserarray
Monolithisch integrierter Wellenlängen-abstimmbarer ultra-schmalbandiger Laserchip auf der Basis von Quantenpunktmaterial
Emissionsspektren des Laserarrays
Über die Gitterperiode und thermisch abgestimmte Emissionsspektren des Laserarrays
Linienbreite (Leistungsabhängigkeit) eines Quantenpunkt-DFB-Lasers
Abhängigkeit der Linienbreite eines Quantenpunkt-DFB-Lasers vom Betriebsstrom
RWG-QD-Laser mit temperaturstabiler Ausgangskennlinie
Kennlinien eines Stegwellenleiter-Quantenpunkt-Laser bei verschiedenen Wärmesenkentemperaturen (gepulster Betrieb)
CW-Kennlinie eines RWG-QD-Lasers (Inset: HF-Submount mit HF-Probe)
Strom-Spannung und Strom-Lichtleistungskennline eines QD-Stegwellenleiter-Lasers. Das Inset zeigt die Montage des Lasers auf einem Kupferblock mit Anlasskeramik und HF-Prober (Bandbreite: 50 GHz)
Augendiagramm eines RWG-QD-Lasers moduliert mit 25 Bit/s bei verschiedenen Betriebstemperaturen
Augendiagramme eines 338 µm langen QD-Lasers, die bei verschiedenen Betriebstemperaturen und einer Modulationsrate von 25 GBit/s gemessen wurden (Direktmodulation) (Kooperation mit Technion, Israel).
© INA 2017. Version: 13.10.2017 - Impressum | Sitemap | RSS-Feed